Texas Medal of Arts


TX Medal of Arts

Texas Medal of Arts

The Texas Cultural Trust and Texas PBS announce the statewide broadcast of the preeminent Texas Medal of Arts Awards for the first time in the
event’s history on Texas PBS stations thanks to the generous support of the Texas

2015 marks the 20th anniversary of the Trust and this year’s honorees include a
distinguished class of individuals who have achieved greatness through their creative
talents, as well as those whose generous philanthropy has opened doors of opportunity for
Texans of all ages. For more information, visit www.txculturaltrust.org.

The Texas Medal of Arts broadcast will feature honorees: T Bone Burnett, Music; Jamie
Foxx, Film; Kilgore College Rangerettes, Dance; Rick Lowe, Visual Arts; Dr Pepper Snapple
Group, Corporate Arts Patron; Margaret McDermott, Individual Arts Patron; Emilio Nicolas,
Multi-Media; Dan Rather and Chandra Wilson, Television; Charles Renfro, Architecture;
Robert Schenkkan, Theatre; Booker T. Washington for the Performing and Visual Arts;
Lawrence Wright, Literary Arts; Ruth Altshuler, Standing Ovation Award; and The Gatlin
Brothers, Lifetime Achievement Award. It also includes performances by Texas Young
Masters Ani Mayo and Amber Pickens, and an All-Star jam finale featuring Jamie Foxx, Ray
Benson, Betty Buckley, and others.

The following Texas PBS stations will broadcast the Texas Medal of Arts Awards on (check local listings):

  • Amarillo: Friday, June 12 at 9:30 pm
  • Austin: Sunday, June 28 at 1:30 pm
  • Corpus: Sunday, June 14 at 7 pm
  • College Station:   Sunday, June 7 at 6 pm
  • Dallas: Friday, June 12 at 8pm
  • El Paso: Friday, June 12 at 8 pm
  • Harlingen: Friday, June 12 at 10 pm
  • Houston: Friday July 10 at 9 pm
  • Killeen: Friday, June 12 at 9 pm
  • Lubbock: Friday, July 10 at 8 pm
  • Midland/Odessa: Friday, June 12 at 8 pm